Bulldozing The Fourth Wall

And so, The Double R Club sinks back from whence it came, into the primordial ooze of your subconscious fears… to return when, once again, the planets align and darkness and mystery may leak forth again…

HOWEVER. An ‘incident’ which occurred at our final show of the season perhaps needs addressing. The show itself was amazing, the performers incredible and the winners of the three crowns deserving and ‘Lynchian’ and wonderful to an almost unearthly degree (photos / announcements to follow)… The ‘incident’ in question took place at the very end of the show and involved a man running onto the stage to join the line-up of potential queens. The ensuing removal of him from the stage and subsequent ejection of him from the building has caused both amusement and offence. One of our potential queens, Myra DuBois posted the following day on Facebook:

“I usually despair of cabaret folk. They frequently and casually use phrases like ‘Debauched’ and ‘Hell-Cat’ whilst being the least confrontational bunch of middle-class, über-liberal and twee librarians around. Last night Benjamin Louche threw his mic down and offered a member of the audience out for being a cunt. He’s my kind of person. Thanks to him and Rose Thorne for putting on quite a night!”

I’ll admit this made me laugh, and while not to my recollection entirely accurate, was a nice  show of support from the lovely and acid-tongued Myra; but I digress…

Rose Thorne and I returned home after the show to an email of complaint:

Hi,Just came back from your night at the BGWMC and had a great time, in fact I think it is probably the best night of this kind I’ve seen over the last few years.The only thing I’ve found to be not in a very good taste was kicking out that guy who went on stage at the end: Getting him off the stage – hell yeah, humiliate, make fun of him – please do… though kicking him out on his own in his costume and making the audience cheer to that when he came to have a good time – that’s where you’ve lost me. My partner and I were both put off by it, I don’t know the guy, though can’t help feeling sorry for him.Again, in overall we had a great night – just hope you would have taken it a bit more easy on audience who comes to enjoy it.All the best,Y___

*
My reply was as follows, and should tell anyone who wasn’t there exactly what took place:
*

Hi Y___,

Glad you enjoyed the show, both Rose and myself work very hard to make it as good as we can and I know the performers do the same.

I’m sorry you found the ejection of that one audience member in bad taste. When he climbed on to the stage I quickly sized him up, rightly or wrongly, as acting in a very irrational manner and knew from experience that such a person would not respond to a polite “please leave the stage”. He could have stayed at the venue but when I saw he had become aggressive and belligerent with my other half Rose, he had to leave. At that point it is no longer ‘fun and games’ with a heckler, it’s threatening and inappropriate behaviour which I will not stand for.

My appraisal of him as irrational was later backed up when I went downstairs after the show and he was still arguing his right to be on the stage. A husband of one of the performers was trying politely to tell him he was wrong but this man refused to listen; he needed to be told forcefully to leave, and he was. I was also then told by the door girl that this man only arrived during the final act of the night and then almost immediately climbed onto the stage.

Also, I would point out that I didn’t make the audience cheer at his departure, they cheered of their own accord because, as many of them came up to me and told me after the show, they agreed with me.

Again, sorry it spoilt your night.

Benjamin Louche

*

I’ll just end this blog entry by saying that, to my mind, there has to be a clear demarcation between performers and audience and that the latter should only take to the stage when invited. Merely jumping up there whenever they feel like it shows nothing but disrespect to all involved (as Rose Thorne said “you wouldn’t climb on stage at the Royal Opera House”) and the very fact that some people think this is acceptable marks them out as, at best idiotic and childish, and at worst, unstable and unworthy of remaining in our audience.

~ by benjaminlouche on June 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
